HomeCricketIND vs SL: 'You Can't Be Doing This': Sunil Gavaskar Slams Indian...

IND vs SL: ‘You Can’t Be Doing This’: Sunil Gavaskar Slams Indian Bowling Attack



  • Gavaskar criticises India’s bowling lineup
  • Gavaskar says that this cannot be done by professionals.
  • India bowled seven no-balls against Sri Lanka in Pune.

Sunil Gavaskar, a legendary Indian batsman, has criticised the Indian bowling attack for bowling seven no-balls against Sri Lanka, stating they can’t be doing this as professionals. In Pune, Sri Lanka defeated India by 16 runs to tie the three-match T20I series.

After the game, Gavaskar criticised the Indian bowling approach in an interview with Star Sports, saying they shouldn’t be bowling so many no-balls. Umran Malik and Shivam Mavi each bowled a no-ball during the innings, while Arshdeep Singh delivered five no-balls.

Gavaskar said, “As a professional, you can’t be doing this. We often hear that today’s players say, things aren’t in our control. Not bowling no ball is in your control. What happens after you deliver the ball, what the batsman does, is another thing. Not bowling a no ball is definitely in your control.”

Also Read: 10 Most Popular Sports In The World

Breaking his previous record of four no-balls against South Africa, Arshdeep has bowled five no-balls in a T20 inning, which ties him with West Indies’ Keemo Paul for the most by an international bowler from a full member nation.

Afghanistan, Ireland, and Sri Lanka are other full-time members countries that have conceded as many no-balls in an inning. The record for the most no-balls bowled in an inning belongs to Ghana, who bowled ten illegal deliveries against Uganda.

Despite stating that bowling a no-ball is a crime, India T20I captain Hardik Pandya refused to blame Arshdeep Singh for their defeat.

 At the post-game presentation, Pandya stated, “In the past as well he has bowled no-balls. It is not about blaming but no ball is a crime.”

All eyes will be on the third and final T20I of the series, which will be played in Rajkot on January 7. India won the first match by a narrow margin of two runs at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, and Sri Lanka won the second T20I at the MCA Stadium in Pune.

Latest stories


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here