HomeCricketIndia Qualifies Directly For The 2021 ICC ODI World Cup

India Qualifies Directly For The 2021 ICC ODI World Cup



  • Indian Women’s team qualifies to World Cup 2021 directly
  • India now joins Australia, England, and host New Zealand
  • The decision was taken by the Technical Committee of ICC after splitting the points of the cancelled series between India and Pakistan.

India has secured qualification in the ICC Women’s ODI World Cup 2021 directly and now joins Australia, England, and the host New Zealand after the Technical Committee of the International Cricket Council (ICC) decided to split the points which were reserved for the series against Pakistan in 2019 which was cancelled.

Also Read: IPL 2020 Suspended Indefinitely As India Extends Lockdown Period For 19 More Day

The series which was the part of ICC Women’s Championship could not go through as the “BCCI demonstrated that it was unable to obtain the necessary government clearances,”.

Consequently, it was confirmed that India’s position is in the top 4 of the Championship table after the splitting of the points which made team India to directly qualify for the biggest event.

Also Read: Top 55 IPL Facts In 2020

Before the decision made by the Technical Committee, India had 20 points while Pakistan had 16 and there were as much as 6 points hanging in the balance after the BCCI decided to not host the series owing to the long-standing political rift between the two nations.

If those points were have been considered as “forfeited by India” which was the case back in 20014-16, it would have been Pakistan who would have made it to the World Cup directly.

On Wednesday, ICC said, “The India-Pakistan series was originally scheduled in the sixth round of the competition, between July and November 2019, but despite the best efforts of both the boards, it was unable to take place,” in a release.

After the decision of the Technical Committee, India stands 4th on the Championship table with 23 points, and Pakistan has 19 points and places 5th.

Also Read: Top 10 Best IPL Matches Ever

Australia has 37 points, England has 29, South Africa has 25 points and ranks 1st, 2nd, and 3rd respectively. ICC Women’s World Cup 2021 host, New Zealand, has 17 points and ranks 6th on the table.

It was also decided to split the points of the Australia Vs South Africa, and Sri Lanka Vs New Zealand series which were cancelled due to the COVID-19 outbreak.

Pakistan will now have to make it to the World Cup through the Qualifier rounds which is due to take place from July 3rd in Sri Lanka, however, is “subject to review” due to the ongoing pandemic.

Anubhav Verma
Anubhav Vermahttps://www.sportscounty.com/
Following cricket since his childhood days, Anubhav has been writing articles on this game since the past 6 years. His love for cricket came early in his life when his father took him to the ground to play cricket. He still plays cricket whenever he gets time.

Latest stories


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Enter your email to receive a weekly round-up of our best posts.
%d bloggers like this: