HomeCricketICC Interim CEO Says All Test Matches To Carry Same Points Per...

ICC Interim CEO Says All Test Matches To Carry Same Points Per Win In Next World Test Championship



  • International Cricket Council’s interim CEO, Geoff Allardice, says all test wins in next WTC to carry same points
  • The winners of the WTC will get $ 1.6 million along with the Test Championship Mace while the runners up will get $ 800,000
  • Total points for each series was 120 in the last WTC cycle

The interim Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the International Cricket Council (ICC), Geoff Allardice said that the governing body will be going to “stick with the percentage-of-points-won method to rank teams” in the next cycle of the World Test Championship (WTC).

Also Read: Top 50 Cricket Facts That Will Amaze You

In the last cycle of the competition, the total points for each series were capped at 120 and the system was changed to the percentage of points for ranking the teams due to the scheduled disruption following the COVID-19 pandemic.

Allardice pointed out that the same points will be available for each game and teams will be judged on the percentage of those points it wins rather than “total points”.

ICC quoted Allardice as saying, “We are going to stick with the percentage-of-points-won method to rank teams. When we looked at the first 12 months of the competition you had teams on a number of points, but it was all relative to how many series they had played.

“So one of the ways to compare teams on an ongoing basis is what proportion of the points that have been available in the matches they played have been actually won. And that percentage served us well in the second half of the Championship”.

Allardice also said, “The other thing is if we are using the percentage of points won we can put a standardised number of points per Test match.

“So it doesn’t matter if it is a two-Test series or a five-Test series, the same number of points will be available for each match that’s played, but every team would be judged on the percentage of those points it wins, not on total”.

The winners of the WTC which will be played between India and New Zealand will take home a winning cash prize USD 1.6 million along with the ICC Test Championship Mace.

The losing team, on the other hand, will get USD 800,000 for finishing second in the nine-team competition, which was played over a near two-year cycle, adding context to Test cricket and to crowning the first official world champions in the longest format of the game.

The prize money for the team finishing third in the ICC World Test Championship Standings is USD 450,000 while the team which ranks 4th on the table will be awarded USD 350,000, the one that finishes 5th will earn USD 200,000 while the remaining four teams will get USD 100,000 each.

Rashmi Gupta
Rashmi Guptahttps://www.sportscounty.com/
Rashmi loves sports, especially cricket. Breaking the stereotype, she even played at the college level and aspired to join Indian Women’s team, however, due to commitments to her family she had to drop that. Her work still speaks of the love she has for the game.

Latest stories


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Enter your email to receive a weekly round-up of our best posts.
%d bloggers like this: